our class community blog!

Assignment 2

Schoolbinder Review-

The first thing I think is incredibly convenient about schoolbinder is the calendar that greets you as soon as you log in. This calendar will alert you to upcoming tests and assignments. As a teacher and a student, having a physical calendar instead of listed dates makes keeping track of assignments and exams  much easier by putting time into a helpful visual. There is less text than there would be a list of dates, which also makes it more approachable for students.  I also think that having the headings across the top and not along the side where a student may have to scroll down is also effective. Because there are only several categories, a student does not have to feel overwhelmed by the number of categories that they can click on. One of the categories is “Goals.”  This term was significant to me because it is common in education lingo  now so it will be familiar to students.

Edmodo-

Edmodo is very user friendly as well, except as soon as I logged on, I was reminded of facebook. In this respect, I guess this is a good thing, but this may mean that it can be misused.  Students can use this wall-like page to send a message to the class about homework instead of the student have to look the assignment up themselves. On the other hand if a student that rarely does his or her homework because he or she does not write it down, now there’s another way to get the assignment anyway. Hopefully the social networking-like appearance of edmodo will encourage students to use  it.

For my first project, I think I will definitely explore misused words and phrases.

I also posted on two blogs, one that hadn’t been updated in a year, but I didn’t realize it until after I had posted and I commented on another, Cool Cat Teacher Blog, and actually received a response!

Comments on: "Assignment 2" (1)

  1. cbarrett07 said:

    Hi!

    I observed a class today where the teachers set the students up in groups. The groups were sort of like literature circles. Each student was to support the other. One student from one of the groups was late and the teacher asked his partner if he called the student that morning. What I’m trying to point out here is that the teacher has found a way to make the classroom an actual community. In a community, people look out for each other.

    I think you make a good point about students depending on each other for homework assignments but I think that’s a good thing. I think the classroom is not only for academic learning but it’s also for learning and modeling good citizenship. In that regard, I think having students reach out for help is a good thing. As far as the similarity to facebook goes, I think students will be more consciensious with Edmodo because their responsible adult teachers are present. Edmodo makes it pretty clear what kind of community this is and I appreciate that.
    –Big Fan

Leave a Reply

